Walter Martin Music
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Walter Martin Radio Hour #5
3
0:00
-58:02

Walter Martin Radio Hour #5

Comfort zones, Cass McCombs, Nina Simone
3

Hi - doing this show is my new favorite thing by the way.  Thanks for all the notes and recommendations. So cool.

Ok, this week I start off in my comfort zone with a Hatian piano piece and a New Orleans boogie. The Hatian piano piece is from a record I just found and it will knock your socks off. I’ve been researching a lot of solo piano music for an album I’m working on so I’ve been enjoying starting these shows off with some of my recent finds.

Once things get rolling, I follow a trail that goes through some Lonnie Johnson (pictured), Scott McMicken, Nina Simone, Bob Dylan, Cass McCombs and Randy Newman and ends in a smoky club in Los Angeles in December of 1954 with an unlikely hero at the mic…

Nina Simone doing Chuck Berry, Bob Dylan doing Lonnie Johnson, Mel Torme (yes Mel Torme) doing Rogers and Hart, and lots more. Surprises around every corner and scratches on every record. Enjoy.

Am I supposed to have a more defined theme on these shows?  I have no idea.  Have a nice weekend.

✌️❤️ -Walt

Share Walter Martin Music

The Walter Martin Radio Hour airs every Sunday night on WEXT in upstate NY at 97.1 / 106.1

You can add the podcast version of this radio show to Apple podcasts from my Substack and it’ll update weekly (that’s what I’d do).


As always, I don’t do any prep research or Googling for these shows, I just use information that’s in my head or on the record sleeve in front of me. It’s more fun that way. Please enjoy some occasional old-school imprecise information and please send me any corrections.

And if you have any questions or requests or comments or recommendations please let me know. Thanks for listening.

Leave a comment


Thank you for reading Walter Martin Music. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

3 Comments
Walter Martin Music
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Hour long program of scratchy records & deep and shallow ramblings.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Walter Martin