Walter Martin Music
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Walter Martin Radio Hour #4
4
0:00
-57:11

Walter Martin Radio Hour #4

GANGSTERS OF LOVE: Maurice Ravel, Dion & the Belmonts, and eleven things in between.
4

Hi - here’s Episode #4 of my weekly radio hour.  This one’s fun and kind of all over the place.  I follow a few threads through a few decades and try to be a responsible DJ by connecting a few dots, but mostly I just play good records and try not to talk too fast.

Some classical piano, some hitmakers making non-hits, some non-traditional traditional music and some rough and nasty voices singing cry-your-eyes-out tear-jerkers.  I love all of these songs very much and would defend any of them to the death if that became necessary.

Share Walter Martin Music

Above is Maurice Ravel (right) with Stravinsky. They were good friends. I love that fact. Stravinsky even spoke at Ravel’s funeral. As I explain in this episode, I’m in the midst of a big Ravel phase. It’s a great phase to be in and I highly recommend getting into one if you can. I only touch on a little bit of classical music in this episode but I plan on going deep eventually. I have lots to learn about classical music but I know what I love and I love what I love a lot. We can get into it this winter. It won’t be boring I promise.

And below is Dion Dimucci of Dion & the Belmonts. What a fantastic singer.

Ok that’s all. Have a good weekend.

✌️❤️ walt

The Walter Martin Radio Hour airs every Sunday night on WEXT in upstate NY at 97.1 / 106.1

You can add this podcast version of the radio show to Apple podcasts from my Substack

or

Listen in the Substack app

Get more from Walter Martin in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

If you have any questions or requests or comments or recommendations please let me know below. ✌️

4 Comments
Walter Martin Music
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Hour long program of scratchy records & deep and shallow ramblings.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Walter Martin