WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Walter Martin Radio Hour #8
21
0:00
-54:55

Walter Martin Radio Hour #8

Down in Bermuda I Realized How Stiff I Was
21

The Walter Martin Radio Hour airs every Sunday night at 8pm on WEXT in upstate NY at 97.1 / 106.1

This week we take a look at what it’s like to be a young rock ‘n’ roll fanatic whose world revolves entirely around rock ‘n’ roll and who believes he needs nothing else in life apart from rock ‘n’ roll but then one day something happens and he catches a glimpse of a world that lies beyond rock ‘n’ roll and he’s like, “Hold on…what the f*ck is that?”

Ernesto Lecuona

This is definitely something that happens to a lot of people as they grow up but it happened to me in a way that bears a remarkable resemblance to the way Jonathan Richman describes it happening to himself.

In his 1987 song, Monologue About Bermuda, Jonathan walks us through the whole story.

Jonathan Richman

Share

So in this episode we look at that growing-up process a bit and we listen to some enchanting music that brings it to life.

Oh, and also I do some name-dropping and tell my story about meeting Leonard Cohen when I was in high school and stuff like that.

And don’t worry, we never turn our back on rock ‘n’ roll (no way, never).

-✌️❤️walt


Featured artists:

  • Ernesto Lecuona

  • Henri Salvador

  • Bob Dylan

  • Jonathan Richman

  • Thelonious Monk Septet

  • Andre Charles

  • Neil Young 

  • Maurice Ravel

  • The Everly Brothers

  • Leonard Cohen

  • The Modern Lovers


Henri Salvador.

You can add the podcast version of this radio show to Apple podcasts from my Substack and it’ll update weekly (that’s what I’d do).


As always, I don’t do any prep research or Googling for these shows, I just use information that’s in my head or on the record sleeve in front of me. Please enjoy some occasional old-school imprecise information and please send me any corrections.

Leave a comment

And if you have any questions, requests, complaints, comments or recommendations please let me know below. Thanks for listening.

The Modern Lovers

Thank you for reading Walter Martin Music. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Hour long program of scratchy records & deep and shallow ramblings.