WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Walter Martin Radio Hour #9
6
0:00
-59:31

Walter Martin Radio Hour #9

Some 21st Century Music etc. blah blah
6

The Walter Martin Radio Hour airs every Sunday night at 8pm on WEXT in upstate NY at 97.1 / 106.1

Ok this week I feel like I’m trying to prove that I don’t only listen to old music. Sure yes, I listen to a lot of old music but I swear I listen to a lot of new music too. I actually follow it really closely.

Perfume Genius

But I didn’t always do that. Until about 2007, I was the kind of guy that was like, “I hate new music. New music is terrible. Keep that sh*t away from me.” But when I was in my early 30’s, I decided that maybe I should investigate new music and see if there was anything worth listening to. And I found out pretty quick that there was.

Share

Thee Oh Sees

I’ll go deeper into lots of fantastic 21st century music as I continue this radio show (2024 is such a great year for new music, holy crap!) but for now we’re gonna go over some of the stuff that first made me realize there was life after The Magical Mystery Tour.

We go through lots of cool stuff including the (not new at all) Sam the Sham song I consider to be the dumbest/most brilliant thing ever recorded.

EnjoY!

✌️❤️-walt


Featured artists:

  • Bonnie Prince Billie

  • The Dirty Three

  • Thee Oh Sees

  • Perfume Genius

  • Michael Hurley

  • Sir Douglas Quintet

  • The Modern Lovers

  • Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs

WIll Oldham

As always, I don’t do any prep research or Googling for these shows, I just use information that’s in my head or on the record sleeve in front of me. Please enjoy some occasional old-school imprecise information and please send me any corrections.

Leave a comment

And if you have any questions, requests, complaints, comments or recommendations please let me know below. Thanks for listening.


You can add the podcast version of this radio show to Apple podcasts from my Substack and it’ll update weekly (that’s what I’d do).

Thank you for reading WALTER MARTIN MUSIC. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Hour long program of scratchy records & deep and shallow ramblings.