WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Walter Martin Radio Hour #11
14
0:00
-1:00:18

Walter Martin Radio Hour #11

The 1980's: Goths vs. Aging Rock Stars
14

The Walter Martin Radio Hour airs every Sunday night at 8pm on WEXT in upstate NY at 97.1 / 106.1

This week we turn to the 1980’s and take a look at what the cool kids were listening to. It was nice to shift from my recent focus on 50’s & 60’s rock ‘n’ roll and to remember that all of the exuberance and romance that draws me to that stuff is equally present in 80’s music — it’s just hidden under a lot of hairspray and goth makeup.

Robert Smith

In this episode, we also review how the aging rock stars of the 1960’s generation responded to being left in the dust in the 1980’s. Some responded with grace, some with charm and some with…reggae.

Mick Jagger

Oh yeah and I start the show with a brief lecture on enigmatic genius, Neil Michael Hagerty.

Share

Thanks for listening and I hope you find some stuff you like that you’d never heard before. ✌️❤️-walt

Bjork

Let me know if you have any thoughts about the show. Like for example, do I talk too much?

Leave a comment

As always, I don’t do any prep research or Googling for these shows, I just use information that’s either in my head or on the record sleeve in front of me. Please enjoy some occasional old-school imprecise information and please send me any corrections.


You can add the podcast version of this radio show to Apple podcasts from my Substack and it’ll update weekly (that’s what I’d do).


Thanks for reading WALTER MARTIN MUSIC! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

WALTER MARTIN MUSIC
Walter Martin Radio Hour
Hour long program of scratchy records & deep and shallow ramblings.